top of page

Traveling to Japan ; 京都 Kyoto

Hi everyone. Hope you are all doing well.

Here in Montreal, Quebec, we are hitting winter. All the leaves have fallen on the streets. The squirrels have been getting chubby. The trees look like they are waiting for the snow to cover their branches.

I went back to Japan, my home country for a month from the end of August. I had a great time over there. I would like to share some stories with you today.

The last time I went back to Japan was three years ago, in 2013. I noticed something when I arrived at Beijing to switch the flight to Tokyo. When I was surrounded by many Japanese which doesn't happen often here in Montreal, I panicked and got shy to speak Japanese. I was overwhelmed by the great service in ANA and the energy that the Japanese create. It took a couple of days to get used to speak Japanese and behave like a Japanese. It still sounds funny to me but I was so weird.. Maybe some of you have had a similar experience?

I was staying in Tokyo for two nights and headed to Kyoto by bullet train.

As you know, Kyoto is one of the most beautiful cities in Japan. They conserved the city as it used to be very well. I enjoyed visiting some temples and shrines. Japanese gardens always impress and fill my heart.

Kiyomizu temple

Kiyomizu temple 清水寺

Gion street

Gion 祇園

Golden temple

Golden temple 金閣寺(鹿苑寺)

Kaiseki cuisine

At Kaiseki restaurant 懐石料理

Bamboo forest in Arashiyama

Bamboo forest in Arashiyama 竹林、嵐山

Kifune

Kibune shrine 貴船神社

Arashiyama

Katsura river in Arashiyama 桂川、嵐山

I have been to Kyoto many times before moving to Montreal. But Kyoto has been showing me different faces in every visit. I still don't know Kyoto. I would love to stay there for a while to discover the city next visit.

Special thanks to my friend Eri! We met in Montreal and now she lives close to Kyoto. I was so happy to share the time with her over there.

Love and gratitude,

Maya xx


bottom of page